Of Goodreads and Listicles

I’m a HUGE fan of Goodreads. I have been using it for a few years now, and I was depressed when the new Kindle Fire came out with Goodreads integration and my old Paperwhite didn’t get it for almost a year later. I mark every book I read (mostly the paper kinds, and yes, I’m weird like that) and rate them, though I rarely write reviews. Today, I was looking at the recent deluge of Facebook Book lists and it got me wondering why these lists were a Facebook thing, when all my friends seem to be on Goodreads too. When I started making my own list, I had this vague plan to link the Goodreads pages to the list, but then frankly, for a status message in FB it was just too cumbersome. It’s weird though. Many of my friends have books on their list that I want to read, but now, I have to go discover these lists (or hope that Facebook surfaces the ones I’d really like) and then keep adding on Goodreads.

I wondered why in these times of Buzzfeed and crazed listicles, Goodreads doesn’t have lists. Except, it does. I checked. But here’s my issue – I’m a longtime user and it took a search for me to discover this. I realize that in the interest of simplicity, there is no point in having lists upfront on the login screen. But, in times like this, especially when a book tag is doing the rounds, shouldn’t Goodreads be pushing users to publish these lists on Goodreads? Especially since the FB ones are going to die down, and none of us will ever be able to locate them later. It also looks like Goodreads believes the lists should only be of the format ‘Best Robot Books’ not “Michael’s Favorite Books’ – I wonder why. I mean, I may be far more interested in discovering something from A’s favorite books, than a list of her favorite thrillers, for instance. Maybe I’m projecting way too much of my self into the shoes of a generic user on Goodreads. Maybe people would prefer Goodreads be the way it is. It would be interesting though, to see if Goodreads could maybe create these list driven FB posts as a social media marketing campaign, where they get people to tag books on Goodreads or some such. I feel like all the virality should benefit them!

Leave a Reply

