“Storyboarding”

The first time I ever heard the word ‘storyboard’, it was as a production term, to create the flows for television advertisements, documentaries, movies and so on. In my mind, the term will forever be associated with drawing artistic stick figures. Of late, I’ve been using the same word to describe pre-wireframe usability scenarios for my product ideas. The transition felt pretty seamless because it still involves drawing stick figures (OK, so let’s just admit upfront that I love drawing ideas).

It does however feel super weird to apply this term to creating a non-stick figure oriented, templatized Powerpoint presentation (yes, Powerpoint. Not Keynote). And thus my life comes full circle, and takes an ironic U-turn.  

Leave a Reply

