More Musical Memories

I am working on my portfolio, and so far it’s been quite a frustrating experience. I put in more than half a day of work before getting stuck on a crazy bug that I just couldn’t get rid of. So finally I decided it was time to change tacks and went back to square one. I’ve been hacking at it all day, and I know I’ve probably spent way more time on this than I intended to in the first place. I’ve been trying to cheer myself up by randomly playing music on Pandora.

I was at a particularly frustrating point when I heard the familiar strains of a song (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxvSFH4r1MU) that has so many memories linked to it. A song that I heard every night for months, while traveling with a friend in his car. At the time we were working on a crazy project that required us to spend nights at work. We used to take a dinner break every night, to go spend some time with his wife and some other friends. He was addicted to the song, and played it every day. Working on a website, debugging stuff while listening to the song reminded me of that time and all that it meant in my life. It was the time I decided to pretty much change everything about life. A time I was at my most conflicted.

It seems fitting that I get to listen to this song at a time when my only frustration is debugging a portfolio page. It reminds me how lucky I am to have this time where I am so much more relaxed and at peace with everything. It reminds me of a friend with whom I’ve had many differences and disagreements. But a friend nevertheless. The last time I met him, someone told me I’d never meet him again. But then, I did. And something tells me, he’s always going to be on my list.

Leave a Reply

