Of Musical Memories…

Two separate incidents, both linked to music and memory.

I didn’t have my USB in my car yesterday since I’d taken it out to use for some file transfers. So for the first time in a long time, I was listening to FM. I was shuffling through channels when suddenly ‘Alvida’ started playing. The opening bars of the song immediately took me back to a time way back in 2007, when I was just beginning my second year at b-school. Memories of sitting in a corner of NCR1, and working furiously on a random video for AKB, interrupted only by pings from Intemperate¬†with more ideas. Memories of time spent doing things I loved, which I hadn’t done for the entire year before. Memories of the time when I finally began feeling like maybe I wasn’t so much of a misfit as I’d always felt earlier.

******

This morning I did remember to take my USB. And the first song that played was Phil Collins ‘Against all Odds’. The opening bars of the song made me think of last year, of the day when the song made me feel like I’d been punched in the stomach. A memory of how I almost let go of something that now makes me smile everyday. A memory of how I kept trying to go with the flow because I didn’t want to take a stand. A memory of that instant in which I realized I had to take charge and do something, and fight for what I wanted.

Every song has a memory linked to it. I can think of many, can you?

Leave a Reply

